Frenched – Melanie Harlow

When Tucker Branch, playboy heir to Branch Bolt and Screw, screws and bolts a week before their wedding, Mia Devine wants nothing more than to crawl under her newly monogrammed sheets and plan a funeral for her dignity. But her friends convince her that bitter tastes better when it’s drowned in Bordeaux, so Mia grits her teeth and packs her bags, determined to make the best of her luxurious Paris honeymoon—alone.
She never planned on meeting Lucas Fournier.
The easygoing bartender’s scruffy good looks and less-than-sympathetic ear annoy her at first, but when she takes him up on his offer to show her around the city, she discovers that the romance of Paris isn’t just a myth.
Nor is the simultaneous O.
The last thing Mia needs is another doomed love affair, but since she only has a week, she figures she might as well enjoy la vie en O with Lucas while she can. But each day—and night—with Lucas is better than the last, and suddenly her heart is telling her this is more than a rebound fling.
Is it just the seduction of Paris…or could this be the real thing?

 

Just finished Frenched by Melanie Harlow.

This wasn’t initially on my list of reads, but it kept on popping up as a must read from folks I follow on goodreads, so I figured I should give it a try.  It actually came at the perfect time.  This was a well thought out, well paced story, it wasn’t rushed in the least and I’m SO happy with the ending.

This was the first time reading one of Melanie Harlow’s books and I will definitely be on the look out for other books from her, in fact, I think that I may already have one on my Amazon wish list.  But I digress…

First and foremost, this book is just fun.  I won’t lie, at first I thought it was trying a little too much with the humor, but I promise you that was just me being bitter and angry over the previous book I read.  This didn’t deserve such harsh judgement.  Looking back, those first few chapters, considering the situation.  Pretty damn funny.  I mean the poor girl was dumped 7 days before her wedding.  7 days!  What kind of dick does that?  Clearly Tucker the Fucker (I mean seriously, how can that at last not bring a smile to your face…

We spend the first few chapters re-hashing said break-up with Ms. Mia Divine, then being convinced that jetting off to Paris is the right thing to do and then finally,  meeting one Mr. Lucas Fournier.

So let’s start with Mia.  Mia is list obsessed, really not that sad about the end of her relationship with her fiance, though incredibly upset that she isn’t getting the wedding of her dreams.   I didn’t know if I should have felt sorry for her.  I don’t think that the thought even crossed my mind once.  For that I am thankful.  Here is a character that, quite honestly adequately mourns the end of her relationship and then moves on quickly to realize where her happiness really lies.  It’s refreshing, that with a standalone story that the writer was able to make a situation authentic enough to be passable in a situation like the one presented.  If she had spent the entire book undecided about her feelings from her previous relationship,  I wouldn’t have even bothered with a review.

And then there is Lucas… While I give this book an overall 5/5.  Lucas, still missed something for me.   Don’t get me wrong, I liked him.  He reminded me of romantic leading me from movies from 2000’s.  Oh, like Mark Ruffalo.  A little unkept, sweet.  Honest.  Sexy.  Really it was like oh he’s so adorable and then suddenly, some where in the final acts of the book, he becomes this playful domineering (in the most PG sense) guy and I kept wanting more of that person.  I think had he been that guy throughout, I would have had him pegged as my next book boyfriend.  He was just too nice (in the sack) for me.  I like them dirty.

**Spoiler**

This book is definitely a HEA (happy ever after) if you’re looking for it and it is a lot of fun to read.  I would even venture to say that I would pick it up again, since it’s a quick read.   I’d love to see a follow up story, mainly because I feel like there is some more story to tell.

If you’re interested in checking it out.  It’s selling for $2.99 over at Amazon: Frenched

One thought on “Frenched – Melanie Harlow

  1. Pingback: Raunchy Reads

Leave a Reply

