Reading… it’s taken over my life

Some time late last year, September, I believe it wa, I decided that I was going to go a head and read a little series called Fifty Shades of Grey.  You may have heard of it.  If you haven’t I wouldn’t be surprised if you lived in a bubble of some sort.  They’re making a movie out of it… Still haven’t heard of it, maybe you’re lucky, I don’t know.  Here’s a little shot of the cover, maybe that will refresh your memory.   FSoG

Well, anyway, FSoG, changed my life.  No seriously, not the book itself.  It’s not that great.  Don’t get me wrong, at the time, I LOVED it.  I was consumed by it, but then like addiction, I needed more.  Since I wasn’t going to get my fix from Ms E.L James anymore, I had to look else where… and else where is where I have ended up.

I have turned into an AVID reader.  I don’t even know if that’s the right word, to express the sheer joy I get from reading.

Now, I’ll be honest, I am reading only one genre of books; romance novels and not in all their shapes and glories either.  I like Erotica.  You know that stuff that several years ago, if you were caught dead reading you would be looked upon as though you had about 10 heads.  That stuff.  The one handed read.  The book that makes you blush, the one that makes you squirm.  That’s me.  It’s what I love.  I don’t apologize for it… At least not anymore.

Now it’s not like I won’t read other books.  I just choose not to.  I know that there is a whole world of reading out there, but right now, this is what I am into.

With all that said, this is my corner of the universe to talk about some of those very books.  I hemmed and hawed for a long time about whether I wanted to do something like this and decided that, yes, I do.  There have been times, when I’ve wanted the world to know about a good dirty read, because it was simply amazing.  Then there have been times where I’ve wanted to just throw out some feelings about a book, because I thought it was lacking, unfulfilling and the dreaded, absolutely disappointing: The Opportunist, Dirty Red, Thief (it’s a series, I’m still mad about it).

I probably won’t review every book I read.  I’m up to about 15-20 a month.  It’s just a lot to try and commit to, but if you notice to your right there is a little widget from https://www.goodreads.com/  (come find me: iyakamae, i’d love to meet your acquaintance) that lists the current book I’m reading.

If you have recommendations or would love to discuss a read, please feel to comment. I’m looking for reads and readers.  I have many books on my multiple futures list that it’s hard to keep up.  That doesn’t even include the wish list that I have going on on Amazon.

 

Leave a Reply

