Restraint – Erica Chilson

This is Part 1 in the multi story arc “Mistress & Master” Series by Erica Chilson.

Mistress & Master of Restraint series begins with Katya Waters’ Journey of Self-discovery in Restraint. 

Katya Waters moves to a new city for the job of her dreams. Her need to explore her darker-side leads her to the club, Restraint, where she meets the mysterious “Boss”. The Boss pulls her into a thrilling game of Kat & Mouse. Follow her exciting journey as she connects the mystery of her past with her thrilling present. 

I was not impressed.  First and foremost; it is not a love story in any sense of the word.  That is fine.  I don’t mind that.  It’s more a story of self discovery, acceptance and learning to deal with the harsh shit that life sometimes throws at you.

OK! This book started out fine, pretty good in fact and conceptually, I like this book.  Overall however, it’s terrible.  Is it wrong of me to review this book clearly from a clerical point of view?  I can’t help it, it’s all I thought about the entire time I read the damn thing.

Let’s start with this… upon reading the book description from Amazon it tells you that  it was

*** Freshly edited & expanded*** July 3rd, 2013

By who?  Whoever did it, did an exceptionally poor job and I feel like that’s me being kind.  I at times, had to throw in the odd word here or there, just for things to make sense.  I shouldn’t have to do that, but there I was doing it ever few pages.  There were grammatical errors everywhere and the tone and voice of Katya, at times didn’t match the overall tone of her character.  She threw around the word “ya” when really “you” would have been so much better and fitting.  It didn’t feel like the other characters were running into this problem.  Which was why I was at loss as to why she was so scattered.

What frustrated me the most however,  was that there was a specific event in Katya’s life, the true focus of the story, that was repeatedly told throughout.  I don’t mean a mere mention of either.  It was literally copy and pasted again.  Through out.  While, yes I could understand the overall need for it’s repetition, it just felt like it weighed the book down unnecessarily.  Each time it came about the piece was expanded to shed light on the event. It took up pages.  I ended up skimming those pieces all together, looking only for things that maybe where added to flush out the scene.

It’s a shame really, because like I said conceptually, it’s really good. It’s so totally fucked up. These characters live in a really screwed up bubble, that just works for them. There is no romance here.  Not in the traditional sense at all.  But for this story, it’s okay.  It doesn’t need to be.  I get why there is no love.  I get why there is a need to fix something so horrible.  While the fixing piece is extremely unconventional, who cares.  None of this is real anyway.   Did I pick up this book because I was seeking that HEA.  No I got it because I wanted Dark Erotica.  I like that stuff.

But here’s my problem, it took me a shocking 4 days to get through this.  I wanted to know what was going to happen to these people.  I just didn’t want to be subjected to the massacre of it’s writing.

Now, the writer was nice enough to include a preview of chapter 1 from the second book, Unleashed, into this book.  I did read it (which I don’t typically do).
It did make me want to read the next book  however, I don’t think that I can do it.  Yes, I want to know more.  I do.  So much.  But if I find out that I’ve paid for another book, littered with grammatical woes and discombobulated tone, well, I’ll be really pissed off with myself.  Yeah, I know that I should read a book and enjoy it for it’s story, but at what point does it’s poor editing ruin it for you?  I know I found mine with this.

I can’t even give it a proper review because it’s pissed me off that much.  I’m just going to walk away now.  I’m irritated.  I’ll go read something else.

If you do want to read this book.  Find it here from Amazon it’s selling for $3.99.  Tell me if I’m being unkind?

 

Leave a Reply

