Veiled Innocence – Ella Frank [review]

Veiled Innocence – Ella Frank

Tick, tick, tock.

Time.

That’s all I have now.

A small room, a photograph, and time.

They want me to trust them and confess my sins.

They told me they wouldn’t judge me—they lied.

I thought we could convince the world that this wasn’t a crime.

We were wrong.

Time doesn’t stand still.

The clock keeps ticking, the world is unconvinced, and now…

Now he is gone.

Warning: adult themes/explicit sex scenes

Woah… what the fuck was that?
I haven’t decided if I liked this. I’m genuinely undecided. I’ve spent most of my day with my nose firmly glued to my kindle meandering though this wanting to know what was going to happen in the end. Now that it has ended, I wonder if kept going because I liked the story or if I just had to know what was going to happen to these two characters.

For all intense and purposes, this is not an easy subject matter. It’s topic is taboo; a student and teacher, having a relationship. A heated steamy no holds barred relationship.

The story jumps from the past to the present throughout and while initially I had my doubts, it does work. What also works is the perspectives that we receive from both the main characters in the story. Had this been a one-sided story, I wonder how well his would have played out over all. I don’t think that Addison would have been enough to carry the story. Even though, really the story is hers.

There is just something about Addison that was missing for me. She had just way too much going on for her as a character. Death, abuse, a little bit of self loathing. It’s all just so much, it really weighs her down. It weighs the entire book down and while I get that, that is key to the story, there were moments where my patience for her waned considerably. First she’s emotionally detached Addison, then she’s sultry seductress Addison, next needy broken Addison… and it just goes on in a vicious circle. I won’t say that it doesn’t work for the story, because it does, I’m just of the belief that sometimes, less is more. I would have felt enough compassion for her, if she was reeling from one bad situation in her life. Not the multiple that have been hurled at her.

As for Grayson, he’s not perfect. But neither does he try to be. In his own regard, he is just as broken as Addison is. Fighting his own personal demons and trying as hard as he can to overcome them. His methods of dealing with his emotions left me confused at times.  And during one particular scene, I wondered if the relationship that he was having with Addison was healthy at all.  But then, he would say things like this

“I’ll teach you how to come with a man inside you.”

and this

“I have no idea why I’m allowing myself to be with you, but I have no clue how to stop.”

then this

“Just remember this isn’t a game anymore. You wanted me, and you got me. But don’t fuck around with me.”

and it was like all that stuff other didn’t matter (well, not as much).

As I write this I realize that it sounds like I didn’t like this book. Simply, that’s not the case. While I am not typically interested in teacher/student relationships, I was intrigued by this one, because ultimately I wanted to know what happened in the end. How did they get there? What made them stay there? Can they be together? If they can be, how? Do you get the answers to these questions? I’m of the belief that you do.

Overall, this is a good book! It is, I gave it 5/5. Because even though I bitch about the characters, I still just enjoyed reading it. I didn’t want to put it down. I was consumed by it. I liked the writing style, I liked the dialogue, the pace. I just liked it. The characters got under my skin. I wanted them the whole time to have something that they can’t have. When a writer can make you feel like that. Feel for characters, even when you’re getting pissed off at them. That, for me, makes a good story. One I would recommend you read.

Amazon: Veiled Innocence $3.99 [Kindle Edition]

Leave a Reply

