A Demon & His Witch – Eva Langlais #review #book

Have you ever read a book and was just pleasantly surprised?  That was me just the other day as I read this wonderfully funny story of a Demon (Remy) and his Witch (Ysabel)…

A Demon And His Witch (Welcome To Hell Book 1) – [kindle edition] FREE for a limited time

Free for the month of June ONLY.

Burning alive is nothing compared to the heat of his touch.

There are better ways to break up with a girl than having her roasted at the stake as a witch. Is it any wonder Ysabel has trust issues? She got her revenge, though, and it only cost her a slightly tarnished soul.

Working for Lucifer isn’t all bad, until her ex-boyfriend escapes the bowels of Hell and she’s forced to team up with a womanizing demon to fetch the jerk back.

As a minion in Lucifer’s legion, Remy’s seen a lot of things, but nothing can prepare him for the witch with the acerbic tongue – and voluptuous figure. The more she pushes him away, the more determined he becomes to seduce her. However, what’s a poor demon to do when he accidentally falls in love and wants to keep her forever?

Welcome to Hell where you’re screwed if you do and damned if don’t. And just so you know, Lucifer has a special spot reserved for you…

As a reader of erotic novels I am not typically interested in paranormal stories.  I guess I enjoy a sense of realism when I read my fantasy.  This however proved to me how wrong I can be sometimes.

I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading this.  Without knowing, I thought that this was going to be a stuffy read.  I picked it because it was short (a mere 158 pages).  I figured that I could power through it even if I didn’t like it.  As it turns out, this could have been longer and I would have been equally pleased with it.  It was such a fun light read.  Both of the main characters were equally entertaining.  In fact, all of the characters were thoroughly entertaining.

Remy our resident demon is a self-professed player.  He loves women, women love him.  Except Ysabel, but then again she hates all men.  His arrogance is beyond amusing

“Touch my balls with harmful intent and you’ll be tea-bagging them,” he warned. Stymied she had to ask. “What the hell does that mean?” An enigmatic smile graced his lips. It made more than her sex tingle, her tits joined the game too, hardening into points “Why don’t you touch them and find out?” “Pig.”
“I prefer the term rutting beast.

I mean really, he just made me laugh.

what is your type? No wait. Let me guess. Hard, plastic coated and jammed full of big D batteries.

and it was constant from beginning to end. He was just so funny.  Sometimes this can ruin any type of romance for a character, but the development in his relationship with Ysabel is so natural, that the moments when he is sweet, you forget about how much of cocky bastard he is.

Ysabel who is singularly motivated throughout is one of the most fun female characters I’ve read in a while.  She starts out bitter, stuffy and I thought a little unlikeable, though with good and understandable reason, but as she begins to soften towards Remy, you really begin to soften towards her.

I wish I had quotes for you, because she has some wonderfully dirty thoughts at times and her quick wit and come backs to Remy left me laughing out loud.  She was just so funny.  They all were.  It makes me want to read the entire series, which I am considering getting as soon as I can.

While there really isn’t a lot of sex in this book over all, the chemistry between Remy and Ysabel makes you feel as though there is.  They have quite a few moments of build up which is more than adaquet and while I wanted them to have more sex, truthfully it would have just been filler.  Yeah I can’t believe I said that.  I didn’t want more sex.  Who am I?

So, now I’m thinking about trying other books from this author.  Me, a paranormal reader, I would never have considered it, but after reading this I have to admit; I am intrigued.

 

 

Leave a Reply

