The Professor’s Pet – Tara Crescent #bookreview #review


The Professor’s Pet (A BDSM Romance Novel) – [kindle edition] $2.99
***The perfect blend of bondage, dominance, submission and love ***

Have you ever been dangerously attracted to your professor?

Jake Ballard. He is smug and mocking, but his body is the stuff of epic fantasy. Now, through an unfortunate twist of fate, he holds my smut-filled Kindle in his hands.

I have a decision to make. Can Professor Ballard be my instructor in this world of bondage, dominance, and submission? And, eight weeks later, when my class is at an end, can I walk away from Jake?

I don’t know if I can, in good faith, recommend this book. I want to be able to tell everyone to pull out their $3 and get right on reading this, especially if you like BDSM novels. The only problem is that it’s probably one of the more poorly edited stories that I’ve read in a little while. Okay, so it’s not littered with bad spelling, but the punctuation and the style that it’s written in, kind of remind me of what I did while I took notes for meetings. I can’t believe I say this when I missed the simple word “and”

He leaned back, watched me.

I wonder if this is Tara Crescent’s typical style? I’m hoping that it’s not, because I do plan on reading some of her other books, because I really did like the overall story and I like the scenes that she sets.

“climaxing without permission is very, very bad. Same reason – I want you to fall apart with pleasure at the pinnacle, not before. The more you control it, hold back, the more it builds in intensity, till it reaches a fever pitch and you can’t think or act or breathe without the fear of breaking into a million pieces; that’s when you can orgasm. Not a second sooner.”

Knowing just how short this book was, I wondered just how quickly the plot would move along while maintaining its, for a lack of a better term, believability.  After all, Emily has just 8 weeks at the hands of Jake Ballard.

What is done well in the book is that there aren’t any hang ups in time.  You know what I mean, where a story gets stuck in a certain period of a story and you wonder when it’s really going to be able to get to where it needs to be.  This one sort of flows along consistently.  They spend a chapter focusing in on one thing, then the next we’ve moved on in time and before you know it, you’re there at its climax, wishing that it could drag out even longer.

If the option had been there to have more, it could have played out to be an even better book.  But I’ll go back to the method in which it’s written and say that, I don’t think that I could have handled another 100 pages of it, no matter how much I would have enjoyed it, let alone 10.

The story is told from both sides; Emily and Jake, but it’s Emily’s voice that is the dominant narrator of the story.  I could have gone either way in this story, it was nice to have both of their perspective which proves to me that Tara Crescent knows how to tell a story, she just doesn’t (at least not here) know how to write one.

Both of the characters are engaging and they’re both developed in a way that had you rooting for both of them and for their happiness.  I kind of wish that there was a follow-up story, just because I like them both so much, but I don’t know, I just don’t know how much patience I have for Ms Crescents story telling style.

My overall conclusion would be to grab a sample of it, if you can.  If you can get pass the style of writing, then read the whole book.  It’s really a good story and it’s filthy as delicious fuck. I do recommend it, but I do so with caution.

 

Leave a Reply

