Playing the Game – M.Q. Barber #bookreview #review

Playing the Game (Neighborly Affection) – [Kindle Edition] $3.03

Neighborly Affection, #1
 She expects dinner with neighbors, but gets sex with a side of safewords.

Mechanical engineer Alice still drools over her sexy neighbors a year after she’s moved in. She can’t decide whether they’re roommates or partners, but either way, they spark a wanton desire in her that has her imagination–and vibrator–working overtime.

Henry, director of everything around him, studies human nature and applies philosophies to his paintings as well as his relationships. Quirky, polite to a fault, and formal, he follows his own code of honor even when it means denying himself.

Flirtatious and playful, Jay needs stability, guidance, and to please others. His antics counterbalance Henry’s stuffy ways while he brings a level of vulnerability and fun to everything the trio does.

BDSM play with the enigmatic artist and flirtatious joker across the hall allows Alice to put aside the linear thought processes which have kept her unsatisfied and distant with other lovers. She must dismiss her preconception of love, sacrificing her independence, if she’s to find a permanent place in their beds and hearts.

CONTENT WARNING: Explicit sex, graphic language, BDSM, bondage, spanking, M/M/F menage.

82,000 Words

Ugh, I don’t know if I want to keep reading this story arc, even though I want to know how the relationship between these characters play out. The problem is here is that Henry really kinda ruined this story for me. It’s a shame, because I think that I would have liked it tons more if the tone of his voice wasn’t so annoying.

“But Alice herself is a delicate creature, a wondrous harmony of elements. Her pleasure depends on optimum timing, more so than ours, my boy.”

Henry is the alpha mature male, to both Alice and Jay and really that sounds great, until he opens his mouth and starts referring to Jay as ““Good boy” or “my boy” and Alice as “dear girl”. It wasn’t as though he would do it rarely either, it was all the time. He’s general way of instructing and speaking to them both was really out-of-place with the other characters. It was as though he came from Victorian, England. He’s a man out of his time.

Also the constant repetition of her safety, security and the incessant repeating of her safe-word;  We get it!!  In the real world, I understand the importance of affirmation.  In my fiction though, I don’t need to be repeatedly told something that I got the first 3 times you told me.  Just thinking about it is making me angry.

I don’t know and seriously doubt if I will spend the almost $8 finishing out this story. I know that I might end up throwing my kindle because if I have to hear Henry’s “voice” one more grating time. Maybe it would be safer for me to read another time.  Maybe it’s a mood type of story.

I will say that the scenes were pretty good, but I have to go back to the whole Henry thing, ugh, Henry!! You really ruined it for me.

I don’t have any complaints when it comes to Alice and Jay.  They had great chemistry really playing off each other well.  Admittedly the way that they are written they definitely need a third.  Someone to guide them through their submission and need for one another.  Had that man not been Henry, I would be begging to read more. Sadly, I don’t feel that way.

If you read this book, do so with caution.  Yes it has some steamy threesome scenese and really nicely laid out fantasies and I do honestly think that the series is going to get better (based on the developing relationship), but until I get passed my distaste of Henry, I doubt you’ll be getting a review out of me anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

