Taming of the Prude – Esmae Browder


The Taming of the Prude: Book 3 in the Naughty Shakespeare Series – [kindle edition] .99¢
Some marriages begin with mutual trust and admiration. And some…well, some begin with the promise of a dowry and the taming of a wife. When saucy, headstrong Kate discovers that the man she’s just seduced in the courtyard is to be her future husband Petruchio, she is furious and vows to make sure that he never receives the dowry her father has promised him if he tames her! Instead, Kate begins a campaign to tame him and her methods are a little more adventurous than his. Unafraid of her sexuality, Petruchio’s wife uses all sort of devices to make sure he knows exactly who the boss is in their marriage is. But can they fight the sparks of love that threaten to tear their strong willed natures a part? And just who is taming who?

This fun, fast paced erotic tale based on Shakespeare’s comedy The Taming of the Shrew is the third book in Esmae Browder’s Naughty Shakespeare series.

 

Taming of the Prude is an erotic retelling of Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew, or if you’ve seen the movie; Kiss Me Kate. I’ve seen the movie, albeit years ago, and I’ve never read the play. I’m going to have to remedy that because this retelling while a very extreme version of the story, it reminded me how funny this story actually is.

Since I only had a general idea of what the story was about, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect out of this story. I guess I should say too that when I read any novella of this type, you never really know what you’re getting yourself into.

One thing this story absolutely is, is filthy. Great right?! That’s what we’re all here. Some short and sweet smut! So why didn’t I just love this story? I think it just overall wasn’t my cup of tea. The relationship between Kate and Tru isn’t so much Tru taming Kate as it is an expedition of sexual self-discovery for both characters. Not that, that is a problem, I guess I was thinking that it would closer to the original retelling, again I need to re-read the play.  I just wish that there had been more active taming, maybe in the vain of BDSM. That would have been great. As it is, there are some threesomes and some very hot scenes, of the one handed read variety. If that’s how you like your books, then I would highly recommend this story to you.   I wouldn’t recommend this as a love story in the least bit, but definitely a fun romp.

This book is part of a three series set and at the very end the author eludes to more coming. I kind of hope so, because I may be tempted to pick another one up.

Leave a Reply

