Serving The Billionaire – Bec Linder (series) #BookReview #Review


Serving the Billionaire (The Silver Cross Club Book 1) – $0.00/FREE
Regan takes the job because she’s desperate. She just got fired, she’s down to her last hundred bucks, and she hasn’t spoken to her parents in years. She’s out of options, and serving drinks at an upscale gentlemen’s club sounds easy enough.

At the Silver Cross Club, she’s exposed to a world of wealth and hedonism that she’s never experienced. And the clients tip well — so well that she’s willing to ignore the debauchery that goes on in the back rooms.

Then she meets billionaire Carter Sutton.

Scion of a powerful family, and a regular client at the club, he’s rich, handsome, and incredibly charismatic. Regan finds herself being drawn into his orbit.

But their undeniable chemistry can’t prepare Regan for Carter’s sexual desires. He’s used to getting what he wants, and Regan has only two options: resist, or surrender completely…

This 38,000-word novella is an erotic romance with explicit content and is intended for an adult audience.

 

Aah, billionaire romances and they’re Pretty Woman premises, how I miss you so much!

Yeah, so this isn’t quite Pretty Woman, but the concept is pretty much the same.  Down on her luck girl, while not a prostitute, gets a job at a high-end gentleman’s club and ends up meeting a billionaire, who would like nothing more to change her entire world.

This is such a simple story and that’s one of the reasons that I like it so much.  It’s not trying particularly hard, it’s just upbeat, miracles can happen type storytelling.  So far no great tragedies, some tasteful humiliation and a sex scene, that has the chance to lead to so much more in book 2.   The characters are both likable.  Reagan is submissive and sassy.  It’s a great combination, there’s nothing more boring for me than a woman who just complies.  Reagan is written as a woman who expects more of herself all the while learning and accepting things of herself that she never knew until she meets Carter

I enjoyed reading about the attraction that these characters have towards each other

I had the impression, walking toward him, that he was reeling me in like a fish on a line, drawing me toward him with the force of his blue gaze.

and I like that it remains throughout the entire book.  There are times when male characters in stories like this, where they are just unapologetic assholes.  While it’s okay sometimes, it’s refreshing when an asshole admits that he’s wrong and wants to be a better version of himself for the woman he is drawn to.   Carter does that so well in this story and I can not wait to see what else he is going to do for Reagan in the next book.

One of the major themes of the relationship that I am enjoying a great deal with these two is the humiliation aspect of there sexual escapades.

I liked the implicit humiliation of the situation: him cool and in control, sitting down, fully dressed; and me exposed, subservient, taking off my clothes for a man I knew almost nothing about.

In really simple terms, it’s pretty fucking hot when Carter pushes Reagan to do things.  I’m hoping beyond hope that there is more of that in the next book.  Humiliation in a story as a whole is something I enjoy.  There is just something so incredibly naughty about debasing yourself willingly to someone.  And to have power and control taken away trusting in that other person.  Well, I just can’t get enough of it.   I’ve read books in the past where you feel uncomfortable for the female character as she is subjected to the debauched needs of her partner, but here,  I couldn’t have cheered Carter on more.  I wouldn’t have minded if someone walked in on them as they where in flagrante.

You may be wondering why I gave it such an average rating then, well here it is.  It needs to be re-edited and while it may be harsh of me to give it an average rating because of something like that, the simple thing is, this book would be a lot better if it had been edited better.  Some scenes lose their potency for me because I read it as I see it and then I have to re-read as it’s intended.  If I didn’t have to do that, well this would probably have gotten a solid 4.    That said, while I debated spending the $4 on the next book, I’m just going to do it.  I really like Carter and I need more…

Leave a Reply

