Possessed by You & Perfected by You (Torn Trilogy Books 2 & 3) – J.M. Walker ★☆☆☆☆ #BookReview #Review

  

Revealed by You (Torn Trilogy Book 2) – [kindle edition] $2.99

The sharp edge of love…

Brett MacLean was possessive. Even more since I became his. He was my desire…my ultimate pleasure…he was mine.

As each day passed, he revealed a part of himself that had lain dormant. A broken childhood. A troubled man. One I was determined to help.

After months together, I thought I knew him. But soon realized I was wrong. His dark secrets were only the beginning. The past was more disturbing than I ever could have fathomed.

His deep seeded need for me came with a price that could have consequences. I needed him just as much. Because of this, we would be tested. My greatest fear was that it would take us beyond the limits of our love.

 

Perfected by You (Torn Trilogy Book 3) – [kindle edition] .99¢

An all-consuming need…
Evvie Neal was my addiction. The love I felt for her controlled me and it brought me to my knees. She was my one. My only.
Destroyed as a boy, healed as a man, she was my saving grace. The first person who knew the real me. Because of her, I became stronger. Whole. A true warrior in my own personal Hell.
As time went on, demons from my past haunted me, threatening to ruin what I had worked so hard to become. Strong.
The ultimate sacrifice was giving up a piece of myself to be perfect. For her.

I wavered so much between hating the books and tolerating the books. I ended up just hating them. Hating them because they were stupid, not romantic and mainly they were repetitious over sexed dull reads. So why did I bother reading out the series? My rational was this; a lot and I mean a lot of people were giving it high a rating. I thought that maybe at the very end it would redeem itself. It never did. It just got progressively more stupid. Of course I could be in the minority here. I should be kind and just say it wasn’t my cup of tea. But honestly I think it’s more than that; you either loved this series or you loathed it and I loathed it.

So why? Because Brett called Evvie “Lover” and it never came across as endearing. Instead it grated on my last nerve. She wasn’t lover she was “Luvah” it sounded horrible, from the moment that it started through all of the books. If that wasn’t bad enough he was always smug or smirking and very rarely anything in between. I think that I actually hate those words now. Each time I see them in another book, I cringe a little taken back to Torn.

Overall Brett just wasn’t the sweet alpha male that needed Evvie… What he needed was a Valium and some serious counseling. I found it hard to believe that his method self-control was to always be “in” Evvie. It was sick, it wasn’t sweet. He used her and not in the Dominant/submissive way. He just took whatever he needed from her. Had the relationship not developed beyond the physical I think this would have been a lot better. It was force feed down our throats that these two loved one another, but I just didn’t see it.

…and I can’t even get into Evvie, because she just really pissed me off. She represented everything that I cannot stand in my female heroes. She had no respect for herself and she often came across as week, even when she was (trying to be) strong. Her tone was whiny and nothing about her made me root for her one bit. I couldn’t have cared less about her.

It’s such a shame too, because I originally went into the books thinking that I would love them. I walked away feeling like no amount of scrubbing would remove the crap that I had poured over for days. I am so disappointed with this series, just so disappointed. I even waited a little while to post a review because I was hoping that I would feel differently about the books. Since my reading of them, I’ve read a couple of outstanding books and I think that I am more pissed off now because I waited this long to get through that shit, to get to the great reads waiting for me on the other side. Maybe the only redeeming thing about reading these books, was it made me appreciate the excellent books that I have read since. I guess I can be thankful for that. But that’s about all I am thankful for.

I can’t in good faith recommend these books. Stay away, as far as I’m concerned. If you’re tempted to read them, please don’t blame me if you end up hating them. On the other hand if you end up enjoying them, I’m genuinely happy for you. Really I am.

Leave a Reply

