Top Three Things I Learned from Cherry Adair

Silken Sheets & Seduction

Rachel KenleyThis past weekend I took the opportunity to join the Connecticut RWA at their Master Class with New York Times best-selling author Cherry Adair.  I’ve been a fan of her books – now, I am a fan of hers.  It was a very fun weekend and while a good deal of what she talked about was, for me, much needed review, there were some important things I learned.

  1. YOUR CHARACTER’S BACK STORY IS EVERYTHINGCherry_Adair

It’s not something you dump into your narrative – that will bore the reader, but it is what informs who the character is when the story starts.  What have they done?  What have they overcome?  What scares them and why?  How did they become the person they are – because this is going to shape how they accept (or don’t accept) the journey you, the writer, are about to put them on.

I knew that…

View original post 399 more words

One thought on “Top Three Things I Learned from Cherry Adair

Leave a Reply

